Zone Bulgaria  
English
Bulgarian
Deutsch
French
Russian
 
Main Menu
Southwest Bulgaria > Panagyurishte > Landmarks

Landmarks in Panagyurishte

The Town Museum of History is almost wholly dedicated to the epoch of Revival and the April Uprising. The Doudekovs House (now an Ethnographic Museum) illustrates the way of life in the town at the end of the 19th century. Here were the headquarters of general Dandeville in 1878. The Toutevs House is famous for the fact that the uprising was declared in it on 20th April 1876. The native house of Marin Drinov, the famous Bulgarian historian, professor and social personality, the first minister of education in newly liberated Bulgaria. Raina Knyaginya Museum House with its preserved revival architecture. In its courtyard are the bones of the national heroine, who sewed the flag of the uprising. The Lekovs, Mateevs, Landzhevs, Smols houses, Fidzheks shops, etc. Interesting is the The Holy Virgin Cathedral Church (1818), the St. Georgi Church (1856) and in particular the memorial complex, erected at Manyovo Burdo in commemoration to the 100th anniversary of the April Uprising. There burns an everlasting fire.

Every year on 20th April, Panagyurishte is the centre of the national celebrations, commemorating April 1876. The town is the native place of Pavel Bobekov (the main organiser of the uprising in the town and the chairman of the transitional Bulgarian government within the short-lasting days of freedom), Nesho Bonchev - the first Bulgarian literary critic, Vasilii Cholakov- an ethnographer and dedicated supporter of Bulgarian Enlightenment, Pavel Deliradev - a notorious Bulgarian social personality and mountaineer, true follower of Aleko Konstantinov.

In 1949 near the town The Golden Treasure of Panagyurishte was discovered - a unique Thracian treasure from the 3rd century BC, unique in the world with its original shapes and decorations. It has been exhibited all over the world, thus making the name of its native town famous as well as the name of Bulgaria. At present it is kept in the Archaeological Museum of Plovdiv.

Home | Search | Site map | Copyright